Japan and Peru for Colombia to APEC

· Economics
Location of The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a member economy forum that gathered 21 nations with coast in the Pacific Ocean from Asia to America as a regional economy, cooperation, trade and investment. Canada, United States, Mexico, Peru and Chile are the American countries in the APEC. Colombia asked to join the forum in 1995 but it was not accepted. However, Peru, Vietnam and Russia were accepted in 1997.

Hirofumi Nakasone, the Japanese chancellor, said that his country will suggest the acceptance of Colombia when Japan will take the presidency of APEC in 2010. His Colombian colleague Jaime Bermúdez, said that the government of president Álvaro Uribe will start a diplomatic campaign to insure that it happens for Colombia. By his part, chancellor José Antonio García Belaunde of Peru said that his country will support the joining of other Latin American nations with coast in the Pacific and especially Colombia.

APEC means a market of more than 2 thousand million persons and the 70% of the world economical growing. The current members are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, South Korea, United States, Philippines, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zeland, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Russia, Singapure, Thailand, Taiwan and Vietnam.

Other countries seeking membership in APEC are India, Mongolia, Pakistan, Laos and Bangladesh.


Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: